Entries invited for 2024 Railway Innovation Awards

Submissions for novel ideas and new technologies introduced to the railway during the last year are invited for the annual Railway Innovation Awards.

The Awards are the longest standing event in the rail industry and are organised by Modern Railways in partnership with the Railway Industry Association.

Entries for the awards are invited in eight categories:

• Environment and sustainability

• Passenger experience

• Cross-industry partnership

• Operations and performance

• Engineering and safety

• People, skills and diversity

• Small-scale project

• Major project


Entries can be submitted online through the entry form here; each submission can be entered in one or two categories. Guidance about submitting your entry can be found hereThe deadline for entries is Friday 19 April, after which the judging panel of industry experts, chaired by RIA’s Technical Director David Clarke, will meet to determine a shortlist for each category of winning and Highly Commended entries.

The 2024 Railway Innovation Awards will be held at the Marriott Grosvenor Square in London on Friday 21 June. Winners will be presented with a fine cut glass engraved vase from Dartington Glass, while other shortlisted entrants will receive a Highly Commended certificate.

To find out more about the awards, click here.