First Golden Whistle winners announced

Sponsored By

Focal Point Preview Image      Porterbrook      Focal Point Preview Image

Modern Railways and the Institution of Railway Operators are pleased to announce the first winners in the 2021 Golden Whistle awards.

The awards would normally be held earlier in the year, but the coronavirus pandemic means this was not possible. Instead, we will be announcing the winners across the week, culminating in a webinar on Friday morning at which Network Rail Chief Executive Andrew Haines will speak, followed by the announcement of the winners of the Outstanding Operator awards by Golden Whistles MC Dick Fearn. Our thanks go to the IRO for their support and assistance in organising this virtual version of the Whistles, and to our sponsors Tracsis and Porterbrook for their ongoing support.

Today we are pleased to announce the winners in two of the three categories for passenger operators. The awards are based on the On Time performance Moving Annual Average (MAA) to Period 9 of 2020-21, which is the standard time period over which the winners are calculated. On Time measures punctuality to one minute at every recorded station.

In the London and South East category, the winners are:


Gold Whistle (best performance) – TfL Rail, with an On Time figure of 81.0%.


Silver Whistle (most improved performance) – Greater Anglia, with a 7.3% improvement.


In the Regional category, the winners are:


Gold Whistle – Merseyrail, with an On Time figure of 76.7%.


Silver Whistle – TfW Rail, with a 5.9% improvement.


The winners in the Long Distance category will be announced tomorrow, along with the winners of the Irish Rail awards.

Tracsis plc