Sir Jon Thompson joins HS2 board as non-executive director

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps has appointed Sir Jon Thompson as a non-executive director to High Speed 2 Ltd’s board.

Sir Jon is chief executive of the Financial Reporting Council and was previously Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Defence and HM Revenue and Customs. Tom Harris, Elaine Holt and Ian King were recently appointed to HS2’s board in similar roles in what the Department for Transport says was a move to strengthen oversight and scrutiny of the project.

HS2 is seeking a new chair to succeed Allan Cook, who will leave the company this summer.

Sir Jon Thompson