Thanet Parkway station opens

Thanet Parkway became the first new station in Kent in eight years when it opened to passengers on 31 July.

Located between Ramsgate and Minster, the aim is to boost the local and wider Kent economy by supporting connections to new housing and new business and job opportunities, particularly at surrounding business parks in Thanet and Dover, as well as supporting the area’s leisure and tourism industry. It is expected that in its first year of operation the station will attract more than 100,000 passengers.

The station has two 250-metre platforms, lined by acoustic barriers to absorb noise and provide privacy for lineside neighbours. A 293-space car park will offer free parking for a limited time as an introductory offer. Other facilities include lifts and stairs to the platforms, CCTV, ticket vending machines, waiting shelters and seating, pick-up and drop-off zones and cycle storage facilities. The station will be staffed on weekdays between 08.00 and 16.00 for the first six weeks, with staffing beyond that point to be kept under review.

Thanet Parkway is served by hourly Southeastern high-speed service to and from St Pancras during the day, with extra trains at peak times. At peak periods, main line services to and from London Bridge, Charing Cross or Cannon Street will also call. Journey times to St Pancras via Ashford International are as little as 70 minutes.

Network Rail has carried out a Thanet Corridor Enhancements Programme, which includes upgrades to Dibleys, Ships Meadow and Grove Ferry level crossings to permit linespeed increases between Ashford and Ramsgate, making space in the timetable for trains to call at the new station. Cliffsend and Sevenscore level crossings have also been upgraded.

Network Rail was lead partner for construction of the station, which has cost more than £35 million. Funding was from the Department for Transport, the Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities, South East Local Enterprise Partnership, Thanet District Council and Kent County Council.