Golden Whistle Awards

The brainchild of Chartered Institution of Railway Operators luminary Chris Loder, the Golden Whistles event was founded in 2010 to promote best practice and celebrate excellence in railway operations.

Sign up to the Newsletter

After a hiatus in 2021 due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the Golden Whistles returned to an in-person format on Friday 25 February 2022. Awards recognising the efforts of operators and operating teams were presented as the climax of a full day event at the Marriott Grosvenor Square in London.

We are grateful for the ongoing support of our lead sponsor Tracsis, our associate sponsors Porterbrook and Resonate, and to the CIRO, particularly the hard work put in by the South East Area Council to calculate and judges the winners of the awards and to make the event possible.

Sponsored By

 Tracsis Plc Logo

In association with

Porterbrook      Resonate

Chris Green, Howard Smith and Gordon Pettitt - lifetime achievement winners at the Golden Whistles. News Premium

Calling all operators!

Prestigious awards celebrate operating excellence

Elizabeth Line success marked at Golden Whistle Awards

Full coverage of the best operators on Britain's railway

Feature Premium

Rail rises to the COP26 challenge

Whistles Special Award recognises combined effort for climate change conference

Feature Premium

​​​​​​​Think strategically about rail freight

GBRf CEO calls for pandemic focus on freight to continue

Feature Premium

Data-led timetable development

Tracsis aiming to create a timetabling utopia

Feature Premium

Northern focuses on its customers

COO highlights importance of focus on the passenger

Feature Premium

Luminate supporting efficient operations

Resonate systems in use on Western and Anglia Routes

Feature Premium

Elizabeth Line: almost there

Final preparations for opening in progress

Feature Premium

Building a resilient post-Covid timetable

The pandemic has presented opportunities for change

Feature Premium

Work together to embrace post-Covid change

The railway cannot duck the challenges it faces, says Network Rail's Tim Shoveller