Railway Innovation Awards

Event date



Marriott Grosvenor Square
Duke Street
United Kingdom

Railway Innovation Awards

4th Friday Club Event

In partnership with

Railway Industry Association Logo

Sponsored by

Porterbrook Porterbrook


Founded in 1998, the Railway Innovation Awards are the longest-standing awards scheme in the industry. Now organised by the Fourth Friday Club, the Awards are the annual event at which everybody keen on seeing innovation in the railway sector meets up to discuss and celebrate the brightest ideas in the industry.


Focal Point Preview Image

Co-Host: Wayne Murphy

Technical Policy Manager, RSSB

Wayne has over 35 years’ experience in the rail industry, starting his career as an apprentice train maintenance fitter. From there he has gone on to spend his career in safety management, working across the industry for train operators, large infrastructure maintenance contractors and RSSB, but he is best known for bringing mundane topics to life through the delivery of highly colourful and engaging presentations and training courses for RSSB and the Institution of Railway Operators.

In his spare time, he hosts charity quiz events and MCs at Kickboxing tournaments.


Milda Manomaityte - Innovation Director, Railway Industry Association

Co-Host: Milda Manomaityte

Innovation Director, Railway Industry Association

Milda is a transport professional specialising in the aviation and rail sectors. She started her carrier as a transport journalist in Lithuania and, after moving to London in 2007, she co-founded the Global AirRail Alliance in 2008, promoting rail access to airports. Milda joined the Railway Industry Association in April 2019 as a Technical and Policy Manager, and was appointed Innovation Director in April 2022. Milda now leads RIA’s Unlocking Innovation programme, advocating for continuous support for rail research, development and innovation as well as identifying and overcoming barriers to innovation.


Noon: Arrival and networking
12.45: Lunch begins
14.20: After-lunch speech
14.40: The Railway Innovation Awards 2024
16.00: Close


The Fourth Friday Club’s annual event celebrating the best in railway innovation takes place each year. The 2024 awards will be the 26th for the longest standing award scheme in the industry.

This is an event to celebrate the achievements of those companies and individuals who are pushing the industry forward by developing innovative ideas.


Entries in the Railway Innovation Awards are assigned to one of these categories:

• Environment and sustainability

• Passenger experience

• Cross-industry partnership

• Operations and performance

• Engineering and Safety

• People, skills and diversity

• Small-scale project

• Major project

Winners of the Railway Industry Innovation Awards are presented with a fine cut glass engraved vase from Dartington Glass.

Information about entering for the 2024 awards will be provided in due course.


Tables of 10 at this event cost £1,700+VAT, sponsorship details available on request. Contact Chris Shilling via email chris@shillingmedia.co.uk or call on 07736 635916.


The Railway Innovation Award entries are judged by a panel of industry experts.

  • David Clarke – Technical Director, Railway Industry Association (chair)
  • Kelvin Davies – Innovation Lead, Rail, Innovate UK
  • Ben Ford – Technology and Innovation Manager, Network Rail
  • Adeline Ginn – Legal, Marketing and EDI Director, Egis and Founder, Women in Rail
  • Helen Hamlin – Chief Network Operator, Network Rail
  • Jo Lewington – Chief Environment & Sustainability Officer, Network Rail
  • Colin Musisi – Development Engineer, Porterbrook
  • Michelle Roles – Stakeholder Manager Wales, Transport Focus
  • Philip Sherratt – Editor, Modern Railways